Government in the United Arab Emirates

Federal Government

Founded in 1971, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) consists of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain, and Ajman.

His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan is President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi.

The Federal Government of the UAE is overseen by the Supreme Council of Rulers, headed by the President and consisting of the Rulers of all seven Emirates. As the highest constitutional authority of the country, the Supreme Council of Rulers ratifies all laws introduced in the UAE.

The Federal Government further consists of a Cabinet of the United Arab Emirates headed by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE, and Ruler of Dubai, and includes two Deputy Prime Ministers, the Ministers of the UAE, and a General Secretariat.

A consultative parliamentary body, the Federal National Council (FNC) was established in 1971 with the founding of the United Arab Emirates. Half of the 40 FNC members are elected via an electoral college, and half are appointed by each of the seven Emirates. Additionally, by Federal resolution, the FNC must have equal representation of men and women.

Government in Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi is capital of the UAE.

For the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, government and policy decisions are overseen by the Abu Dhabi Executive Council under the guidance of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi.

At the bureaucratic level, government and policy initiatives in Abu Dhabi are implemented by a range of departments and public authorities in collaboration with quality private providers where appropriate. Public entities in the Emirate are ultimately accountable to the Abu Dhabi Executive Council.